#70 What is the Preferred Syllabus and Booklist for Assamese Optional?

Assamese language is widely spoken in the north east state  of Assam. It is one of the recognised languages listed in the eighth schedule of the constitution. 

The literature of this language is very illustrious and includes many historical translations.

The paper in this language should be written in the language itself . Anyone who is well versed with the language should take  up this subject.

The syllabus and booklist for the same is listed below.


(Answers must be written in Assamese)



(a) History of the origin and development of the Assamese language-its position among the Indo-Aryan

Languages – periods in its history.

(b) Developments of Assamese prose.

(c) Vowels and consonants of the Assamese languages-rules of phonetic changes with stress on Assamese

coming down from Old Indo-Aryan.

(d) Assamese vocabulary-and its sources.

(e) Morphology of the language-conjugation-enclitic definitives and pleonastic suffixes.

(f) Dialectical divergences-the standard colloquial and the Kamrupi dialect in particulars.

(g) Assamese scripts-its evolution through the ages till 19th century A.D.


Literary Criticism and Literary History

(a) Principles of Literary criticism up to New criticism.

(b) Different literary genres.

(c) Development of literary forms in Assamese.

(d) Development of literary criticism in Assamese.

(e) Periods of the literary history of Assam from the earliest beginnings, i.e. from the period of the

charyyageets with their socio-cultural background: the proto Assamese-Pre-Sankaradeva – Sankaradeva-post

Sankaradeva – Modern period (from the coming of the Britishers)-Post-Independence period. Special

emphasis is to be given on the Vaisnavite period, the gonaki, and the post-Independence period.



Rãmãyana (Ayodhya Kãnda only) – by Madhava Kandali.

Pãrijãt-Harana – by Sankaradeva.

Rãsakrïdã – by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).

Bargeet – by Madhavadeva

Rãjasûya – by Madhavadeva.

Kãthã-Bhãgavata (Books I and II) – by Baikunthanath Bhattacharyya.

Gurucarit-Kathã (Sankaradeva’s – ed. by Maheswar Neog

Part only)


Mor Jeevan Soñwaran – by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

Kripãbar Barbaruãr Kãkatar Topola – by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.

Pratimã – by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.

Gãoñburhã – by Padmanath Gohain Barua.

Monamatî – by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.

Purani Asamîyã Sãhitya – by Banikanta Kakati.

Kãrengar Ligirî – by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla

Jeevanar Bãtat – by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)

Mrityunjoy – by Birendrakumar Bhattacharyya

Samrãt – by Navakanta Barua.


  1. Bargeet-by Madhava Deva
  2. Gaonburha-by Padmanath Gohain Barua.
  3. Gurucarit-Katha (Sankaradeva Part only)-ed. by Maheswar Neog.
  4. Jeevanar Batat-by Bina Barwa (Birinchi Kumar Barua)
  5. Karengar Ligiri-by Jyotiprasad Agarwalla
  6. Katha-Bhagavata (Books I and II)-by Baikuntha Nath Bhattacharyya.
  7. Kripabar Barbaruar Kakatar Topola-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
  8. Monamati-by Rajanikanta Bordoloi.
  9. Mor Jeevan Sonwaran-by Lakshminath Bezbaroa.
  10. Mrityunjoy-by Birendrakumar Bhattacharyya
  11. Parijat-Harana-by Sankaradeva
  12. Pratima-by Chandra Kumar Agarwalla.
  13. Purani Asamiya Sahitya-by Banikanta Kakati.
  14. Rajasurya by Madhava Deva.
  15. Ramayana (Ayodhya Kanda only)-by Madhava Kandali.
  16. Rasakrida by Sankaradeva (From Kirtana Ghosa).
  17. Samrat-by Navakanta Barua

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *